Mama Knows Best

Decluttering

Posted on: November 17, 2008

Well, I am always on the look out for tips, tricks, and ways to help me declutter. The problem that I always come across is that I live in an apartment in a major city on a low income. Lots of things that do not lend themselves to help me out in making our limited space cleaner and relaxing. We do not have the option (yet) of moving to start anew, nor can we buy loads of bins to separate and organize the clutter, nor can we just shove everything out onto our lawn and hold a large yard sale because we have no lawn (we barely have enough on street parking around us).

So, we are stuck in a cramped apartment, stubbing our toes whilst we try and move around, and all the while becoming more and more aggravated with ourselves.

The reason for this post was supposed to be tips that I have found to help others in my situation, but unfortunately I cannot find any. So, now this post is to ask all those out there in my fellow parenting, organization, and decluttering blogs for help.

Do you have any tips, tricks, or ideas to help someone in my position declutter for their family’s sake?

4 Responses to "Decluttering"

I just recently started frequenting smallnotebook.org. She has a lot of tips on downsizing your stuff but also on how to preserve the important memories too.

Thanks DarkFairy! I am hooked on her latest article alone (“20 Tips to Stay Warm in Your Apartment”). That will save me quite a bundle (no pun intended) this winter.

Hello! My tip is that I use paper grocery bags instead of bins for sorting. My focus is not so much on organizing, but seeing what I don’t what to keep anymore. I fill up the bags and then donate them. Once I free up some space, then it is easier to organize.

That is a great tip. I don’t have any paper grocery bags at the moment, but I used boxes instead (diaper boxes, car seat box, etc).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

